Google Chrome Bookmark Sync is known to break Xmarks. For this reason, we strongly recommend disabling Chrome sync.

To disable Google Chrome Sync completely, be sure to follow these steps on each computer where you’ve enabled the sync feature. Note that your data won’t be deleted from your computer but any changes made will no longer be saved to your Google Account, instead it will be saved within Xmarks.

  1. Open Google Chrome.
  2. Click on the options menu, located in the top-right corner in the browser toolbar.
  3. Select “Settings”.
  4. Under “Sign in”:
    • If you see a “Sign in to Chrome” button Chrome Sync is already disabled.
    • Select “Disconnect your Google Account” to disable Chrome Sync completely. Click “Disconnect account” in the pop-up window to confirm and close.

To disable Google Chrome Bookmark Sync (just bookmark sync), be sure to follow these steps on each computer where you’ve enable the sync feature.

  1. Click on the options menu, located in the top-right corner in the browser toolbar.
  2. Select, “Settings”.
  3. Under “Sign in”, select “Advanced Sync Settings…”
  4. In the “Advanced sync preferences” pop-up window, select the drop down menu and select “Choose what to sync”.
  5. Uncheck “Bookmarks”.
  6. Select “OK” to save and close.